The SugarCRM application makes it possible for administrators to personalize the modules and records different users can access using the system. They can do this by creating and assigning roles to regular users.

Role management allows administrators to control which modules the user can access and what actions the user is allowed to perform. Basically, if the regular user is not restricted by any roles, they can access all modules and perform all actions within the system.

Before you can even start assigning roles, you first need to create the role.

Here are the steps involving role creation within the SugarCRM application:

1. Log in to your account.

2. In the SugarCRM application, click on the Admin link in the upper right corner to open the admin panel.

3. Click on the Role Management button.

4. You will be redirected to a page that displays a table listing all the existing roles. To create a role, click on the Create Role button located in the navigation bar.

sugarcrm_roles_atcore_systems

5. On the Create screen, make sure to enter a role name. Optionally, you can also add a short description for the role.

6. Click on the Save button once done.

After you have successfully created a role, a table will be shown on the screen.

sugarcrm_roles_atcore_systems-2

Access Permissions

By default, the access permissions are set to Not Set.

In order to change the setting, click on the permission setting using your left mouse button. A dropdown list will then show on screen, so you can choose between: Not Set, Enabled or Disabled.

The Enabled permission setting allows the user to view and access the module, while the Disabled permission setting makes the module hidden from the user. Note that when the access permission is set to Not Set, the user will also have access to the module.

Action Permissions

The remaining columns in the table correspond to the actions that the user can or can't perform with records in the particular module.

The permissions for the actions are changed the same way using the left mouse button. The available values are: All, Owner, None, Not Set:

When the permission for an action is set to All, this means that all users who are assigned to this role can perform the action.

When the permission is set to Owner, only the person who created the record can perform the action.

When the permission is set to None, it means users who are assigned to this role won't be able to perform the action.

Lastly, the Not Set permission is similar to All. This means that if you don't change the action permissions for that role, all users who are assigned to the role will be able to perform all actions.

7. After you’re done personalizing the permissions pertaining to the role you just created, click on the Save button to apply the changes.

8. You are now ready to assign the role to different users in the system.

If would would like to know more about roles, workflows, permissions, etc.  Contact us today and we can show you the ins and outs of SugarCRM!

ebook-lead-managment-atcore-systems-e1398787955180